How to delete Facebook

What is the difference between deactivating and deleting your account? 

From Facebook’s help:

A lot of people deactivate their accounts for temporary reasons. This option gives you the flexibility to leave and come back whenever you want. If you deactivate your account:

  • Your timeline disappears from the Facebook service immediately.
  • People on Facebook will not be able to search for you. Some information, like messages you sent, may still be visible to others.
  • We save your timeline information (friends, photos, interests, etc.), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your timeline will be there when you come back.

So deactivating you account is basically worthless. But if you do go through the steps Facebook makes an emotional plea to stop you. Now this is really sad. In a desperate bid to hang onto you when you have decided not to delete, but just deactivate you are presented with a selection of “Friends” and are told don’t go Bobby, or Mary will miss you! Are you serious. Imagine the scenario, someone has just been bullied by a “friend” they decide to take a break from Facebook and IT makes an emotional plea saying don’t go your friends will miss you. Honestly this is sick.

If you permanently delete your account:
  • You will not be able to regain access to your account again.
  • Most personally identifiable information associated with it is removed from our database. This includes information like your email address, mailing address, and IM screen name. Some personally identifiable information may remain, such as your name if you sent a message to someone else.
  • Copies of some material (photos, notes, etc.) may remain in our servers for technical reasons, but this material is disassociated from any personal identifiers and completely inaccessible to other people using Facebook.

Are you ready to be free? Really free?

If you to want to actually DELETE your account and not just DEACTIVATE it Click here https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

You will receive the prompts below.

Untitled picture

Permanently Delete

14 Days

So you have actually done it congratulations. But wait there’s more. We realise you are kind of addicted to Facebook, most people are, but you went ahead and took the momentous step of saying yes you want to permanently delete it, it then notifies you now have to wait 14 days!! Did you just hand in your resignation with 14 days notice? What right have they to delay this for 2 weeks??

This is totally unethical and shows just how desperate they are to hang onto every user account at any cost. What part of delete my account NOW don’t you understand Facebook?

Please be aware that you cannot click on a Facebook link on another site, email, like button or anything Facebook related via your PC, iPad, Touch, iPhone etc for two weeks otherwise you will reactivate your account.

You see Facebook only cares about keeping you on-line to collect and store data about your employment, school history, friends, family photos, etc… They don’t care about people and privacy, just data…

The 14 day waiting period is Facebook’s desperate last-ditch attempt to somehow keep you in their “service”. Facebook you are just sad and pathetic. There is no other “service” on the internet that behaves this way. If you want to quit, they let you.

You have to stay strong for the next 14 days. You can do it. Stay away and be free of it.

You will be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s